More Friends and Adventures

Hello Global Voice for Autism Friends and Family,

It is so hard to say goodbye to all of the wonderful people and the new friends we have made while working here in Jenin. Today Sarah and I went to visit some individuals that we have met throughout our time here.

For lunch today, we visited one of our favorite falafel stands and took pictures walking through the city. The picture I took below was with fancy dresses that hang in the window of a store in a near by mall.

We walked to the money exchange bank owned by Mohammad’s family to chat with father and grandfather. They have shown us so much hospitality and therefore, we were so happy to see them one last time and say goodbye.

The final place we went today was the Al Miner mall. During our stay here, we spent several afternoons there. Not only has the mall been a popular place for us to shop, but it has also been a great place for our team to practice community outings with the families we have served. As we walked up the escalators and down the corridors, I was amazed at how familiar I had become with the place.

One of the last friends we went to visit was my friend Rawand. She has a small women’s clothing store in the mall, which she always keeps up-to-date with all of the latest Middle Eastern fashion trends. Each time I have visited her she has made me feel so welcomed. She has given me gifts from her store and offered me snacks/drinks each time as well. Today, she even invited Sarah and I to her house for a barbecue with her family on Friday.

Our last few days here in Jenin, as you can see, have been filled with lots of goodbyes, hugs, and thank you’s for everyone’s kindness. As we get closer to the day of our departure, the farewells will probably continue. While I will be happy to see my friends and loved ones back in the US again, it will be sad to say goodbye to the new friends I have here.

Until we meet again, Jenin! May peace be with you.
departure, the farewells will probably continue. While I will be happy to see my friends and loved ones back in the US again, it will be sad to say goodbye to the new friends I have here.

Until we meet again, Jenin! May peace be with you.

Submitted by Katrina WAlker

Leave a comment